What day is the earth closest to the sun?

Earth is closest to the sun every year in early January, when it's winter for the Northern Hemisphere. We're farthest away from the sun in early July, during our Northern Hemisphere summer. In 2020 the Earth was closest to the sun on January 5th, but it differs slightly each year.