How long should you knead bread dough?

Usually 10 mins by hand or 6 to 8 minutes in a machine. To test do a Window test. Grab a small lump of dough and stretch it between your hands and fingers in a square shape. If properly kneaded you should be able to stretch it to almost transparent without tearing. The gluten gives elasticity.