What is the flavoring in earl gray tea?

Earl Grey tea has traditionally been a black tea, which gets its unique flavor from the oil of bergamot. The rinds of 100 bergamot oranges yields about 3 ounces of oil, which has also been used in perfume, cosmetics, and aromatherapy, as well as a flavoring.