What is the story of the seven fishes?

It was introduced in the United States by Southern Italian immigrants in New York City's Little Italy in the late 1800s. The long tradition of eating seafood on Christmas Eve dates from the Roman Catholic tradition of abstaining from eating meat on the eve of a feast day.