Was mark wahlberg part of the backstreet boys?

No. Wahlberg first came to fame as the younger brother of Donnie Wahlberg of the successful boy band, New Kids on the Block. Mark, at the age of 13, was one of the group's original members, along with Donnie, but quit after a few months.