Is there any such thing as a five hundred dollar bill?

Yes, the $500 bill was made but stopped being printed in 1945.

---

The last $500 bill was printed in 1945, with a series date of 1934 printed on the bill. They were issued out as needed by banks, until 1969. They remain legal tender, but are no longer printed or issued. Any that find their way back to the Federal Reserve, through the banking system, are destroyed.