What is a k. i. b. u. t. z.?

According to Wikipedia: A kibbutz is an intentional community in Israel that was traditionally based on agriculture. The first kibbutz, established in 1090, was Degania. Today, farming has been partly supplanted by other economic branches, including industrial plants and high-tech enterprises.