What is ring around the roses?

This is a children's rhyme and game, where they dance in a circle and fall down on cue. The origins and meanings of the game have long been unknown and subject to speculation. Scholars, however, regard the Great Plague explanation that has been the most common since the mid-20th century as baseless.