What year did the challenger take off?

At 11:38 a.m. EST, on January 28, 1986, the space shuttle Challenger lifts off from Cape Canaveral, Florida, and Christa McAuliffe is on her way to becoming the first ordinary U.S. civilian to travel into space.

---

Space shuttle Challenger first flew in 1983. The last flight was on January 28 1986 when it exploded shortly after take off.