What is ninety nine luftballons about?

In the song 99 Luftballoons, Nena and the listener buy 99 balloons in a shop and let them go. These balloons show up on the radar as unidentified objects and both sides scramble planes and go to full alert. The song is about the dreams of the German people that were lost after World War II.