Who was macbeth?

He was a character in the tragedy in five acts by William Shakespeare written sometime in 1606–1607. Macbeth receives a prophecy from a trio of witches that one day he will become King of Scotland. Consumed by ambition and spurred to action by his wife, Macbeth murders his king and takes the throne.