What is a crock for?

A crock is an earthenware pot or jar used for fermentation or storage of food, such as vegetables, fruit, sauces, meats, and soups. It is also sometimes used in cooking or brewing. When used in reference to a person or topic, 'crock' is used to mean that it is foolish or nonsensical.