What year did the united states get into world war two?

The United States declared war on Japan on Dec. 8, 1941, in response to the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor and other locations on Dec. 7th. War was declared on Germany on Dec. 11, 1941. American military were involved in the war prior to those dates due to lend lease and the Neutrality Patrol.