Where does sesame come from?

Sesame seeds come from the Sesamum Indicum plant. Indigenous to the Sunda Islands in Indonesia and the oldest known oilseed plant in history, the plant has been cultivated for over 4,000 years. From Indonesia, sesame seeds made their way to China, Egypt, India, and Japan.