Why do guinea pigs chirp?

According to hartz.com,Guinea Pigs do make sounds although not described as chirping,They will often let out a high pitched squeal or whistle, & this noise means your furry friend is excited,perhaps about feeding time or playtime,Another sound is the purr,which may make them seem more like a cat.