How many third cups make a half cup?

if 3 cups of 1/3 cup make 1 whole cup, than 3/2 cups (i.e. 1.5 cups) will give you the 1/2 cup. So, Answer is 1.5 cups of 1/3 cup will give you 1/2 cup.