What is the amygdala of the brain?

Definition and Function of the Amygdala The amygdala is an almond-shaped section of nervous tissue located in the temporal (side) lobe of the brain. ... They are thought to be a part of the limbic system within the brain, which is responsible for emotions, survival instincts, and memory.