Does eight ounces of cream cheese equal one cup?

Close enough, but not exactly. Cream cheese is sold by weight, not by volume. With a density of 0.98 g per ml, the 8 oz package of cream cheese has a volume of 7.69 ounces, or about 96% of a cup.