What is the twenty seven club?

From Wikipedia, "The 27 Club is a list consisting mostly of popular musicians, artists, or actors who died at age 27." This fictitious club includes the likes of Kurt Cobain, Janis Joplin, Jimi Hendrix, Jim Morrison, and Amy Winehouse, to name a few.