When was the first jet plane used in war?

The German Messerschmitt ME-262 was the first operational jet fighter aircraft. The first successful test flight was in July 1942, the plane was introduced in April 1944, and first combat actions occurred that summer. The ME-262 was so fast, it forced German pilots to adjust their combat tactics.