Tell me about the coldwar?

The Cold War was a period of geopolitical tension between the United States and the Soviet Union and their respective allies, the Western Bloc and Eastern Bloc, which began following WW2. It is generally considered to span the 1947 Truman Doctrine to the 1991 dissolution of the Soviet Union.