What is the name of the evil empire in star wars?

In each of the three trilogies in star wars, there is a new evil super power opposing the heroes. In the prequel trilogy, there are the separatists In the original trilogy, there is the empire In the sequels, there is the first order

---

The Galactic Empire was introduced in the 1977 film Star Wars and appears in its two sequels. The Galactic Empire seeks to ensure singular rule and social control over every planet and civilization within the galaxy. It replaced the Galactic Republic at the end of The Clone Wars.