What is l. b. stand for pounds?

The pound is descended from the Roman measure called the “libra”. All European words for “pound” ultimately derive from a borrowing of the Latin expression “lībra pondō”, the weight (pondo) measured in “libra”. Hence, “lb” is short for the weight in pounds.