Who ran the fastest five k.?

The men's world record for a 5000m race on a track is Kenenisa Bekele's 12:37 from 2004, and the women's world record is 14:11 by Tirunesh Dibaba in 2008. The records for 5K road races are Sammy Kipketer's 12:59, and Meseret Defar's 14:46.

---

Men's World records is hold by Julien Wanders with time of 13:29 (in 2019), and Women's World records by Sifan Hassan with time of 14:44 (in 2019) for the 5K run.