Tell me something about indian history?

For years the country of India was under British rule, but they eventually gained their independence with the help of Mahatma Ghandi, an Indian lawyer and activist who used nonviolent resistance, a method of protest which continues to inspire movements for civil rights and freedom across the world.

---

Native Americans, also known as American Indians, Indigenous Americans and other terms, are the indigenous peoples of the United States, except Hawaii and territories. More than 570 federally recognized tribes live within the US, about half of which are associated with Indian reservations.