Who were the chicago eight?

The Chicago 8 were anti-Vietnam War and countercultural protesters in Chicago Illinois during the 1968 Democratic National Convention. They were charged and convicted of crimes related to that activity, with the exception of one who asked for a separate trial. The charges were later reversed.