What is the etymology of the word cocktail?

The origins of the term are unclear. There are many myths, however. Some say the drinks were once garnished with a rooster's tail feather. Others say they were stirred with a leaf from the Mexican plant coco de gallo, which means "cocktail" in English). Or it may come from the word coquetel.