Are calico cats mostly female?

Calico cats are almost always female because the locus of the gene for the orange-non-orange coloring is on the X chromosome. Such a combination of chromosomes could produce tortoiseshell or calico markings in the male, in the same way as XX chromosomes produce them in the female.