Why is billiards called pool?

Billiards is not called "pool"; pool is a form of billiards, techinically called "pocket billiards". In gambling, the word "pool" means a collective bet, or ante. Betting may apply to any form of billiards, but it was so common with pocket billiards, that "pool" became synonymous with that form.