How do you ripen a cantaloupe?

Cantaloupe ripens only while growing on the vine. The vine functions as a sort of umbilical cord that provides all the nutrients the immature melon needs to reach its peak flavor and sweetness. Once the vine is cut to harvest it, no further development or ripening can occur.