How did john denver's playing crash?

John Denver fatally crashed his experimental aircraft into Monterey Bay because his attention during flight was diverted in an attempt to switch fuel tanks. The fuel selector valve on the airplane was behind the pilot's left shoulder, forcing him to turn in his seat to locate the handle.