Why do dogs chase their tails?

Oftentimes dogs will chase their tails because they are bored: it's a way for them to have fun and spend some energy. This is especially true for puppies, who may not even realize their tail is actually a part of their body, but see it as a toy. Generally, as dogs age, this kind of play dies down.