What was new york city's first subway line?

The Interborough Rapid Transit Company ran a 9.1 mile long subway on October 27th, 1904. It ran from city hall to 145th and Broadway.

---

NYC's first subway line opened on October 27, 1904. It included a long viaduct across the Manhattan Valley in Harlem.