Why do i feel claustrophobic?

Claustrophobia could be related to dysfunction of the amygdala, which is the part of the brain that controls how we process fear. The phobia can also be caused by a traumatic event, such as: being stuck in a tight or crowded space, for an extended period of time. experiencing turbulence when flying.