Why was elizabeth short known as the black dahlia?

Elizabeth Short, dubbed the "Black Dahlia" by the press for her rumored penchant for sheer black clothes and for the Blue Dahlia movie out at that time, was an American woman who was found murdered in the Leimert Park neighborhood of Los Angeles, California.