What time does the iron sea start?

Plants need iron to transfer electrons during photosynthesis and to make chlorophyll. Phytoplankton need it to “fix” nitrogen into a usable form. Despite being the fourth most abundant element in the Earth's crust, iron is vanishingly scarce in the modern ocean.