What is r. e. n. n. e. t.?

Rennet is the general name for enzymes that act on proteins in milk. It's purpose in a ruminant's stomach is to curdle milk for easier digestion, the same way it curdled our shepherd's drink. Rennet serves the same purpose in cheesemaking: it triggers coagulation.