What is a manson?

Manson is a surname of Scottish origin. It is an Anglicised version of the Scandinavian name Magnusson, meaning son of Magnus, and a Sept of Clan Gunn. It is particularly common in the far northeast of Scotland in the county of Caithness and in Orkney and Shetland.