Where is rumpelstiltskin from?

From the fairy tale of Rumpelstiltskin. He teaches girls how to spin gold from straw in exchange for their firstborn son. If they can guess his name in three tries, they get their son back, if not then the child belongs to Rumpelstiltskin.