What's the difference between staten island and long island?

Staten Island is close to New Jersey, and is the smallest and least populated borough of New York City. Long Island is to the south of Connecticut, holds two boroughs (Brooklyn and Queens) of New York City, and has two New York State counties, Suffolk and Nassau.