What does hip to be square mean?

Hip to be square was a song by Pop group Huey Lewis and the news from 1986. Hip to be square references going against societies norms by living your life as you see fit.

---

A square person goes WITH society's norms, they are conventional, conservative, and unsophisticated. A hip person is TRENDY, they know what's cool. When you put those two ideas together, the song is ACTUALLY saying that it's cool to be conventional, to fit in and conform. Read the lyrics carefully.