How do you power a beacon in minecraft?

Beacons are powered by any combination of iron, gold, emerald, or diamond blocks. Arrange 9 blocks in a 3 by 3 square and place the beacon in the center. To fully power the beacon, create a 3 by 3 square on top of a 5 by 5 square on top of a 7 by 7 square on top of a 9 by 9 square (164 blocks).