Why do watermelons explode?

The most common cause for a bursting watermelon is erratic watering. Whether it's due to poor irrigation practices or drought followed by heavy rain, excessive accumulation of water can put the fruit under a lot of pressure. Also, wrapping many rubber bands around the middle will cause explosion