What's the difference between wagyu and kobe beef?

Kobe is a variety of Wagyu. Wagyu, loosely translated, means Japanese cattle so Wagyu refers to any cattle that is bred in Japan or the Japanese-style. Kobe beef is comprised of a very particular strain of Wagyu called Tajima-Gyu that is raised to strict standards in the prefecture of Hyogo.