What does allergence mean?

An allergen is any substance that triggers an allergic reaction such as sneezing, itchy eyes, or labored breathing or more serious complications. Common allergens are pet hair, dust, pollen, insect bites, peanuts, shellfish, eggs, strawberries and fragrance.