Why are hard boiled eggs so hard to peel?

It turns out, the fresher the egg, the more difficult it will be to peel when it's hard-boiled. Fine Cooking says this is because the albumen, or the egg white, will stick to the shell of a fresher egg, but as the egg ages, it doesn't stick as much to the shell.