What's the difference between tangerines and mandarin oranges?

Tangerines are a specific type of mandarin orange. Mandarins are a type of orange and the overarching category that Tangerines, Clementines, and Satsumas fall into. They are generally smaller & sweeter than oranges, a little flatter in shape, & have a thinner skin that makes them easier to peel.