How many babies does a possum usually have?

As they get larger, they will go in and out of the pouch and sometimes ride on the mother's back as she hunts for food. Opossums may give birth to as many as 20 babies in a litter, but fewer than half of them survive. Some never even make it as far as the pouch.

---

The opossum gives birth to 16-20 (often more) babies, only 12-13 days after mating – the shortest gestation period of any North American mammal