Why do chickens molt?

When chicks hatch, they have no feathers and are covered with a soft down. Chicks go through four stages of molts. A chicken's tail feathers are the last thing to grow in. Adult chickens will molt twice each year – in the spring and the fall – depending on the amount of available light.