When do puppies get sexually active?

Sexual maturity in puppies typically begins to occur between 6 to 9 months of age, although certain giant breeds may not reach sexual maturity until they are older. However, most dogs are at least 9-to-11 months old before their growth plates close. This also varies based on size and breed.